Orlando ♥

So, as some of you may know, I’m bi, and I haven’t posted about the Orlando shooting yet – and it’s not because I don’t support my LGBTQIA+ brothers and sisters. It’s because I’m still shocked. I don’t know what to say. I was still so shaken by the entire Stanford rapist thing, and before I could even sort through all those feelings, this Orlando thing happened.
 
Frankly, it’s overwhelming, and I don’t know what to say. I don’t know what combination of words would make any of this better, what appeal to reason or to the heart would be persuasive enough to someone who is dead set on hating anyone who’s different, on protecting their right to firearms regardless of the price, on finding any possible scapegoat other than lax gun laws to explain away how this shooting epidemic isn’t a shooting epidemic, even as the facts are very much stacked against them.
 
Finding the right words, the right argument, the right appeal, preparing statistics and syllogisms and pointing out logical inconsistencies… it all only works with people who are open to hearing that they are wrong (which most people are not prepared for) and on people who maintain some kind of relationship between reality and their worldview.
 
This is all so sickening. I’m too tired of all this to fight it right now. I am deeply saddened by the direction in which the U.S. is currently going, and I can feel the once blazing fame of my hope and optimism sputtering away like a dying campfire. I want to be angry. I want to be strong for you, kittens, but for the time being, I am shell-shocked and battle-weary. No more. No more.
Leave a Reply

